Bannockburn Walking & Biking Tracks

Bannockburn Sluicings Track
Explore the Bannockburn Sluicings on foot or mountain bike. There are a number of different loops, including a 7 km loop (2 hr return). View the historic relics that lie amongst the spectacular cliffs and pinnacles that have been sculpted by alluvial mining.

The loop track offers stunning views of the wider landscape and is suitable to anyone with moderate fitness. Once in the sluicings, you can see a maze of water races that fed precious water to various mining sites, the remains of the blacksmith shop, and the caves and rock shelters where the poorest miners once lived.

The remaining pinnacles were left by miners to mark the corners of miners’ claims and show how much of the area the miners had sluiced.

There are many mining features to see including:

Menzies Dam – the largest miner’s dam in Otago, fed by elaborate stone water races from Long Gully and the Carrick Range.

Stewart Town – view the remains of a miner’s earth rammed houses. The orchard planted in 1906 still bear delicious pears and apricots.

Long Gully Bluff Track
This track offers interesting views of the back of the Remarkables and Hector mountains.

Public access to Long Gully is restricted. The track is open to the public on Sundays and Mondays. It is closed for lambing 1 October to 30 November annually.

From the Bannockburn Sluicings there is a marked 3.5 hour, moderate tramping track to the Long Gully Bluff Conservation Area.

No dogs permitted on the Long Gully Bluff Track. Dogs are allowed at the Bannockburn Sluicings.